Alexander String Quartet returns to Sonoma

The next concert in the Sonoma Classical Music Society’s 2015 season will be Sunday, May 17, at 3:00 p.m. at Jacuzzi Family Vineyards, Sonoma, when the Alexander String Quartet returns to Sonoma. The program will include:

Mozart Quartet in D Major, KV 575, "Prussian"
Britten Quartet No. 2 in C Major, Op. 36
Brahms Quartet in C Minor, Op. 51 No. 1

Having celebrated it 30th Anniversary in 2011, the ALEXANDER STRING QUARTET has performed in the major music capitals of five continents, securing its standing among the world’s premiere ensembles. Widely admired for its interpretations of Beethoven, Mozart, and Shostakovich, the quartet's recordings of the Beethoven cycle (twice), and the Bartók and Shostakovich cycles have all won international critical acclaim. The quartet has also established itself as an important ad­vocate of new music through over 25 commissions from such composers as Jake Heggie, Cindy Cox, Augusta Read Thomas, Robert Greenberg, Martin Bresnick, César Cano, and Pulitzer Prize-winner, Wayne Peterson. A new work by Tarik O'Reagan commissioned for the Alexander by the Boise Chamber Music Series, will have its premiere in 2016.

The Alexander String Quartet is a major artistic presence in its home base of San Francisco, serving since 1989 as Ensemble in Residence for San Francisco Performances and Directors of the the Morrison Chamber Music Center in the College of Liberal and Creative Arts at San Francisco State University.


About the Sonoma Classical Music Society

The Sonoma Classical Music Society was formed in 2004 with the mission of sponsoring a series of classical music concerts in Sonoma of the highest professional quality. An application for membership in the Sonoma Classical Music Society may be obtained at the website: .

Detailed press releases for each concert will be issued approximately six weeks before the performance date. If you have questions, please call (707) 939-3683, or e-mail
​Zakarias Grafilo  violin 1
Frederick Lifsitz  violin 2
Paul Yarbrough  viola
Sandy Wilson  cello

Mark Your 2015 Calendars!

May 17th, 2015

Alexander String Quartet. Jacuzzi Family Vineyards.